‘Listen to the birds…’

Hi everyone!

I have a fantastic review for you today! I’m reviewing The Lady of the Ravens by Joanna Hickston as part of Random Things Blog Tours hosted by the lovely Anne Carter! 

The blurb

‘Bewitching’ Woman & Home

‘Evocative’ Woman’s Weekly

‘Excellent’ Carol McGrath author of The Handfasted Wife

Two women, two very different destinies, drawn together in the shadow of the Tower of London:

Elizabeth of York, her life already tainted by dishonour and tragedy, now queen to the first Tudor king, Henry the VII.

Joan Vaux, servant of the court, straining against marriage and motherhood and privy to the deepest and darkest secrets of her queen. Like the ravens, Joan must use her eyes and her senses, as conspiracy whispers through the dark corridors of the Tower.

Through Joan’s eyes, The Lady of the Ravens inhabits the squalid streets of Tudor London, the imposing walls of its most fearsome fortress and the glamorous court of a kingdom in crisis.

Review

I love historical fiction and thought I knew all about the tudors before I picked up this book! This exciting and ambitious novel by Hickston is the perfect historical novel full of intrigue and mystery.

The first person narrative draws the reader in as we see from the protagonist’s POV exactly as they see it. There is so much glamour to the Tudor court which Hickston describes wonderfully. The plot is filled with imagery and is the perfect novel is you want to escape back in time.

The characters are equally as compelling. I was amazed at how Hickston described them in the novel; there was the right balance of detail and plot which made this an easy and interesting read!

Joan was an incredibly likeable character and Hickston’s narrative style made it easy to connect and sympathise with her early on in the novel. I also liked that Joan is intelligent and at time’s, quirky which I felt added personality to this character.

I also deeply enjoyed the raven stories and thought this feature was very unique for a novel! And again, the imagery was beautiful, I felt like I was in the story myself!

I’m absolutely fascinated with historical fiction and always look forward to new books but honestly, this one blew me away!

Recommendation

I’d definitely recommend this book for fans of Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel or for anyone who enjoyed historical fiction, especially ones themed within the Tudor dynasty. I can’t wait to read what Hickston writes next!

Many thanks to the author, publisher, and the lovely Anne Carter who organised this tour! Thank you for my copy and my spot on the blog tour!

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour below!

CF82EFEC-8D73-4F26-B73E-8EE2719D977B.jpeg

Book now available as hardback, ebook, or audio from in store and online retailers including amazon.

Happy reading! Lx

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. annecater says:

    Huge thanks for the blog tour support xx

    Like

  2. Excellent, enthusiastic review. I also thoroughly enjoy historical fiction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s