‘A crime down under…’

Woohoo, another Random Things blog tour today! This time it’s Overkill by Vanda Symon…

Blurb

Sam Shephard, a young sole-charge police constable in Mataura, is the main character in a new series of crime novels set in New Zealand. When a young mother in the town is brutally murdered (it seems to be a professional job), Sam is at the heart of the police hunt to find the killer. But then Sam’s past relationship with the dead woman’s husband is revealed. Sam is stood down from the case and is now a prime murder suspect. Frustrated, Sam loses her cool. She can’t stop herself making murder inquiries and gets into serious trouble with her police superiors. But then the young constable stumbles onto something. The murdered woman was working as a journalist and had uncovered a local scandal. She’d been killed to keep her quiet. When Sam enters this world she’s in real physical danger, until at last a conspiracy is uncovered and the killer revealed. Disillusioned, Sam prepares to leave town. What will she do next?

Review

Boy, I was up for reading a mystery, but I don’t expect how frightfully thrilling it would be! I am a huge fan of crime dramas (Ruth Ware, C. L. Taylor, etc) so I was excited to find a new author I thoroughly enjoyed! And can I just say, the cover is beautiful! I know the cover isn’t everything, but it’s absolutely brilliant! So eye-catching!!!

There are so many things happening in this story, I was impressed Symon managed to cram in so much action whilst still leaving enough space for tension. I enjoyed the strong protagonist, Sam Shephard, as she is yes, a total boss! But is also human, and we get to see her vulnerable side, something which made me sympathise with her early on in the story.

I was stunned as to how fast the plot thickened; when I started reading, I had an idea as to where the story was heading, but I was shocked at a lot of revelations and unpredictable behaviour, reminding me of a firework, wondering when it will explode!

Recommendation

This book will sure get your heart racing and blood pumping! An eerie crime quickly turns into a time-critical man hunt in this fast-paced thriller! I would recommend for fans of Ruth Ware and C. L. Taylor.

Want to get a copy?

AMAZON UK

AMAZON US

See below for the rest of the tour!

overkill 2

I want to say a HUGE thank you, as always, to Anne Carter for her brilliant Random Things Blog Tour!

Happy reading! Lx

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s