“ Keep calm and have a cocktail…”

Morning everyone!
What an exciting week it’s been for Books Beyond The Story!
And it’s not over yet… it’s time for my stop on the blog tour for Isabella May’s new book, The Cocktail Bar!

Blurb
Rock star, River Jackson, is back in his hometown of Glastonbury to open a cocktail bar… and the locals aren’t impressed.

Seductive Georgina is proving too hot to handle; band mate, Angelic Alice, is messing with his heart and his head; his mum is a hippie-dippy liability; his school friends have resorted to violence – oh, and his band manager, Lennie, AND the media are on his trail.

But River is armed with a magical Mexican elixir which will change the lives of the Three Chosen Ones. Once the Mexican wave of joy takes a hold of the town, he’s glad he didn’t lose his proverbial bottle.

Pity he hasn’t taken better care of the real one…
Official blurb for The Cocktail Bar

Review
I was beyond excited when I heard Isabella May had written her second novel. I loved Oh! What a Pavlova and was excited to see what May’s next book was about! It came at no surprise that when I started reading this book, I couldn’t put it down! May writes with a wonderful wit that stems from her first novel. I knew instantly that The Cocktail Bar was going to be another hit as May has a distinctive narrative voice that you can’t help but love!

May’s descriptive language pulls you in and makes you feel like you’re inside the story. I love it when a book can pluck you out of the real world and pop you in the centre of another reality for a while. I felt myself escaping and could see myself sipping a strawberry daiquiri or a pina Colada whilst listening in on the drama!

Speaking of drama- I have to talk about the characters! There’s a hint of melodrama, a taste of magic, and a drop of superstition! The characters in this are well thought out and very memorable! There’s a mad mother, a sneaky significant other, an old flame, a relentless music manager, and of course, River. River was a very entertaining character- he has a lot of flaws and gets himself into the most unusual yet hilarious situations! I face-palmed many a time when reading this story!

I loved the travel aspect of May’s first novel, and if you did too, then you’ll love The Cocktail Bar! This story transports you from one end of the world to the other, and a few stops in between!
The main place the story takes place is Glastonbury- I’ve never been to this small wonderland but I felt as if I was there! There’s one thing for sure, small towns definitely are not boring, or what they appear to be…

As the story unravels, the plot thickens. May adds twists at every turn and keeps you wanting more! This devilishly good novel is something to sink your teeth into, with a side of something sparkly!
Don’t worry- no spoilers!

Recommendation
This book is a dangerous cocktail in itself-
blend a handful of crazy characters, add a dash of humour, sprinkle some magic crystals, and finish off with some good local culture, an you’ve got The Cocktail Bar!
If you loved the food in Oh! What a Pavlova, then you’ll love the cocktails in this story! May adds her own twist on this shaken up tale (see what I did there? 😉 ) and stirs up tension with a good hint of laughter!
If you want a feel-good book to read that goes down easier than a Long Island iced tea, then read The Cocktail Bar! You will taste the sweetness, squirm at the saltiness, and be drawn to this fruitfully flavoursome novel!
Perfect for fans of Isabella May, travel novels, comedy, drama, and of course- chick-lit!

CLICK HERE to get your hands on a copy! It comes out TODAY!!!

Want to know more about the author?
Isabella May’s instagram @isabella_may_author
Isabella May’s author page

Happy reading! Lx

Don’t forget to see the other stops on the tour! And join in the fun #TheCocktail Bar

 

98F1EFA0-242E-487F-99AF-1A076DD4460B

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s